COUNTIES OF MAINE———

County County Seat Androscoggin Auburn Aroostook Houlton Cumberland Portland Franklin Farmington Hancock Ellsworth Kennebec Augusta Knox Rockland Wiscasset Lincoln Oxford Paris Penobscot Bangor

Piscataquis Dover-Foxcroft

Sagadahoc Bath

Somerset Skowhegan Waldo Belfast Washington Machias York Alfred

CONGRESSIONAL DISTRICTS ———

First District

Cumberland Lincoln Kennebec (most of) Sagadahoc Knox York

Second District

Androscoggin
Aroostock
Franklin
Hancock
Oxford
Piscataquis
Penobscot
Penobscot
Waldo
Valdo
Washington

Kennebec-5 towns: Albion, China, Monmouth,

Unity Township & Wayne

Brochures are available on request: LWV-Maine

335 Water Street, Augusta, ME 04330

Tel.: (207) 622-0256

Funded by LWVME Educational Fund Copyright LWVME 1986, 1994, 1998, 2001



COUNTY GOVERNMENT———

Commissioners, District Attorneys, Treasurers, Sheriffs, Registers of Deeds, Registers of Probate and Judges of Probate are elected by the people every four years to conduct the affairs of the 16 counties in Maine.

A BOARD OF COMMISSIONERS oversees the affairs of each county. York County has five Commissioners; all the other counties have three. Commissioners, one from each district in the county, are elected to the board by the voters of the district in which they reside. The Commissioners elect a chairperson from the group. In each county one or two Commissioners are elected in each biennial regular election. Salaries vary widely among counties.

Commissioners are authorized: to hire a County Administrator to administer all departments and act as clerk; to operate a regional solid waste disposal system; to operate social service programs; and to set up county personnel records boards. Commissioners have broad authority to contract with municipalities to provide services.

Commissioners hear property tax abatement requests from those municipalities which do not have own local abatement appeals board. A Commissioner also sits as a member of the State Claims Board.

Commissioners of the several counties with Unorganized Territories serve, in effect, as the municipal officers of those territories, providing public safety, solid waste disposal, road and bridge maintenance, and other services which the residents of organized municipalities receive.

The day-to-day operations of a county may be managed by a County Manager hired by the County Commissioners, and some county governments have established an Emergency Management Agency ("EMA") to develop emergency preparedness and coordinate disaster assistance between local communities and State and Federal governments. A county's EMA may also train fire fighters, police and rescue personnel in how to best prepare for, and respond to, chemical emergencies.

THE DISTRICT ATTORNEY prosecutes in criminal proceedings and represents the county or counties in civil cases in the Prosecutorial District represented. The District Attorney enforces the collection and payment of fines, costs, etc. accruing to the state, enforces faithful performance of duties by sheriffs and constables.

ASSISTANT DISTRICT ATTORNEYS, at least one of whom is full-time, may be appointed by the DA. Salaries vary among the districts but they are paid from specified sums allowed each District Attorney for full and part-time assistants.

Maine is divided into eight Prosecutorial Districts which are:

District 1 York County

District 2 Cumberland County

District 3 Oxford County, Franklin County & Androscoggin County

District 4 Kennebec County, Somerset County

District 5 Penobscot County, Piscataquis County

District 6 Sagadahoc County, Lincoln County & Waldo County

District 7 Hancock County, Washington County

District 8 Aroostook County

THE SHERIFF is the chief law enforcement officer of the county. The sheriff has custody of the jail and its prisoners, serves and executes all legal papers committed to him/her, enforces all laws of the state and ordinances of towns within the county, obeys orders of the Governor relating to law enforcement, and collects legal fees. The sheriff's salary varies among counties; however, the sheriff and deputies receive fees for serving civil papers.

Other county offices and their duties are: COUNTY TREASURER, who deposits and invests county funds;

REGISTER OF DEEDS, who is in charge of the office which records all deeds, mortgages and other documents affecting title to land;

REGISTER OF PROBATE, who is in charge of the office which records all wills, appointments and accounts of executors and administrators of estates, papers relating to guardianship and adoption, and decrees of Probate Court;

JUDGE OF PROBATE, who hears cases relating to estates, adoption, guardianship, etc.